Hill inherits victory after Ingram/Cammish incident

9th June 2024

Team BRISTOL STREET MOTORS' Tom Ingram fired to victory on-track for Round 11 of the 2024 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship at Thruxton, but was later demoted to third after gaining an unfair advantage in an incident involving Dan Cammish.

Jake Hill inherited the triumph after the post-race penalty - his second win of the day and fourth of the season – with Dan Cammish second and Ingram completing the podium.

Having relinquished pole position in race one, eventually having to settle for fourth, Ingram was keen to put things right in the second contest.

Pole man Hill made a stellar getaway in his Laser Tools Racing with MB Motorsport BMW, as the NAPA Racing UK duo of Ash Sutton and Cammish tried to keep Ingram behind.

Ingram got by Cammish as the duo ran side-by-side towards the final chicane, the former being adjudged to have gained an unfair advantage as he straight-lined the chicane.

Sutton and Ingram hounded Hill for the win, but the #1 Ford Focus suffered damage to his splitter around mid-distance.

Struggling for traction at the ultra high-speed Hampshire circuit, Sutton was soon relegated to third by Ingram, who then blasted by Hill a few laps later before romping away.

Sutton was further demoted by his NAPA Racing UK team-mates – Cammish and Dan Rowbottom – and eventually had to settle for fifth.

LKQ Euro Car Parts with SYNETIQ's Josh Cook was sixth, ahead of the Team BMW duo of Colin Turkington and Adam Morgan. Turkington made a late move by his team-mate for seventh, but Morgan will have been consoled somewhat by securing pole position for the reverse grid race later this afternoon.

Árón Taylor-Smith took ninth and with it another Independent win for Evans Halshaw Power Maxed Racing, whilst TOYOTA GAZOO Racing UK's Rob Huff secured tenth after a few impressive late moves.

Hill now leads the overall Drivers' standings by just three points with the lead trio – Hill, Sutton and Ingram – covered by only five points.

Race 3 is set to getaway at 1725 with the action now live and exclusive on ITV4.

Thruxton - Race 2 - Thruxton

1100Tom INGRAMTeam BRISTOL STREET MOTORS1620:44.6621:16.9417
224Jake HILLLaser Tools Racing with MB Motorsport1620:47.2902.6281:17.1405
327Dan CAMMISHNAPA Racing UK1620:48.5523.891:16.4672
432Daniel ROWBOTTOMNAPA Racing UK1620:50.0355.3731:17.0164
51Ashley SUTTONNAPA Racing UK1620:52.8728.211:17.1724
666Josh COOKLKQ Euro Car Parts with SYNETIQ1620:54.2929.631:17.1554
720Colin TURKINGTONTeam BMW1620:54.69210.031:16.7986
833Adam MORGANTeam BMW1620:57.09912.4371:17.0653
940Árón TAYLOR-SMITHEvans Halshaw Power Maxed Racing1620:59.80215.141:17.7444
1012Rob HUFFTOYOTA GAZOO Racing UK1621:02.36317.7011:17.7382
113Tom CHILTONTeam BRISTOL STREET MOTORS1621:03.13018.4681:17.4053
1214Ronan PEARSONTeam BRISTOL STREET MOTORS1621:05.55220.891:17.4516
1316Aiden MOFFATLKQ Euro Car Parts with SYNETIQ1621:06.24021.5781:17.6603
1488Mikey DOBLEEvans Halshaw Power Maxed Racing1621:06.48921.8271:17.2913
1577Sam OSBORNENAPA Racing UK1621:09.93825.2761:17.8934
16222Chris SMILEYRestart Racing1621:11.83327.1711:18.3076
1718Daryl DELEONDuckhams Racing With Bartercard1621:14.68830.0261:18.2944
1829Scott SUMPTONRestart Racing1621:19.31134.6491:18.4276
1922Nick HALSTEADTeam BRISTOL STREET MOTORS1621:32.01047.3481:18.6163
DNF11Andrew WATSONTOYOTA GAZOO Racing UK11:28.07815 Laps1:28.0781
BTCC.net © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home