Vote for your favourite BTCC stars

11th July 2014

It’s no surprise that there are a few familiar Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship faces in the Motorsport News hunt for your favourite British competition driver of all time.

The weekly newspaper has formulated a shortlist of 40 drivers – including several British Touring Car champions – and is asking the public to get involved and determine which one has made the biggest impression.

Among the selected drivers there are BTCC legends Jim Clark, Matt Neal, John Cleland, Andy Rouse and Jason Plato but there are also a number of other drivers who have made famous cameos in the BTCC.

F1 world champion Damon Hill took part in a two-driver BTCC round at Donington Park in 1989 and Nigel Mansell came close to recording a sensational win in 1998 at the same circuit, falling from the lead to fifth in the dying moments. Stirling Moss took part in the championship for Audi in 1981 alongside Martin Brundle. All of these men are featured on the shortlist.

Others on the list to have tackled rounds of the premier tin-top series include Andy Priaulx, Johnny Herbert, David Coulthard and Gerry Marshall. From the rallying world, Tony Pond and Colin McRae are also men who have had one-off outings in BTCC.

Motorsport News deputy editor and BTCC reporter Matt James said: “It was a hard job narrowing the list down to just 40 because each motor sport discipline has its legends. We have got a broad spectrum here, and it is great to see that the British Touring Car Championship is so well represented. It shows the profile of the series and the way that successful drivers in the BTCC are quickly taken to the heart by fans.

“The votes can be best on any criteria as we aim to unearth Britain’s favourite competition driver. The results should be intriguing.”

The votes close at the end of the month and the outcome will be revealed in Motorsport News’s special Best of British issue, published on August 13.

To register your vote, click here.

mnpollimage © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home