Tordoff tops the early times at Oulton Park

29th June 2019

Sam Tordoff has set the early pace at Oulton Park in his AmD-run Honda Civic Type R as the Yorkshireman headed Free Practice 1.

Honda machinery showed well with Chris Smiley, Dan Cammish and Tordoff all topping sector times at one point during the opening 40-minute session.

Tordoff ran solidly throughout but left it until his final tour to set a 1:26.073s benchmark, although this lap time is still more than half a second slower than Jason Plato's 2015 Qualifying lap record.

Halfords Yuasa Racing's Cammish was second, just 0.089s off the summit, whilst in-form BMW man Andrew Jordan was third.

Vauxhall, Toyota and Honda completed the top six positions with Plato, Tom Ingram and Matt Neal all showing decent early pace around the 2.23-mile circuit.

BTC Racing's Chris Smiley had to settle for seventh at the finish, although some of the Northern Irishman's sector times showed he could contend further up the order.

Adrian Flux Subaru Racing's Ash Sutton was eighth ahead of Cobra Sport AmD AutoAid/RCIB Insurance's Rory Butcher and Team Parker Racing's Stephen Jelley.

Warm temperatures continue to sweep across the beautiful Cheshire circuit with all 30 cars taking to the track this morning.

Britain's best will be back on track at 12:10 for the final practice session before Qualifying for Round 13 of the Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship commences at 15:10, which will be streamed live and exclusively via

2019 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship – Free Practice 1 – Oulton Park

Sam TORDOFF (GBR) Cobra Sport AmD AutoAid/RCIB Insurance 1m26.073s
2 Dan CAMMISH (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.089s
3 Andrew JORDAN (GBR) BMW Pirtek Racing +0.267s
4 Jason PLATO (GBR) Sterling Insurance with Power Maxed Racing +0.288s
5 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Team Toyota GB with Ginsters +0.375s
6 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.463s
Chris SMILEY (GBR) BTC Racing +0.467s
Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +0.575s
Rory BUTCHER (GBR) Cobra Sport AmD AutoAid/RCIB Insurance +0.590s
10 Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team Parker Racing +0.595s
11 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +0.679s
12 Tom CHILTON (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher +0.702s
13 Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Simpson Racing +0.784s
14 Josh COOK (GBR) BTC Racing +0.797s
15 Adam MORGAN (GBR) Mac Tools with Ciceley Motorsport +0.808s
16 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +0.854s
17 Jake HILL (GBR) +0.941s
18 Tom OLIPHANT (GBR) Team BMW +0.955s
19 Jack GOFF (GBR) RCIB Insurance with Fox Transport +0.968s
20 Bobby THOMPSON (GBR) GKR Scaffolding with Autobrite Direct +1.034s
21 Senna PROCTOR (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +1.113s
22 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher +1.126s
23 Daniel ROWBOTTOM (GBR) Cataclean Racing with Ciceley Motorsport +1.145s
24 Rob COLLARD (GBR) Sterling Insurance with Power Maxed Racing +1.250s
25 Rob SMITH (GBR) Excelr8 Motorsport +1.721s
26 Michael CREES (GBR) GKR Scaffolding with Autobrite Direct +1.880s
27 Mark BLUNDELL (GBR) +1.904s
28 Nicolas HAMILTON (GBR) ROKiT Racing with Motorbase +2.050s
29 Sam OSBORNE (GBR) Excelr8 Motorsport +2.145s
30 Carl BOARDLEY (GBR) RCIB Insurance with Fox Transport NO TIME © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home