Tom Ingram tops times at Snetterton

29th July 2017

Speedworks Motorsport's Tom Ingram topped the opening Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship Free Practice session at Snetterton as the Toyota driver looks to get his title charge back on track.

The series returns to action this weekend after its traditional mid-season break and it seems that Ingram is refreshed and ready to go. The 26-year-old made a blistering start to the campaign – leading the standings after the third event at Thruxton in May – but his challenge rather unravelled at both Oulton Park and Croft thereafter. His driving ability and potent Toyota Avensis has never been in doubt, however, so it will come as little surprise to see the multiple BTCC race-winner competing at the front again this weekend.

Ash Sutton led the way for much of the FP1 running, backing up his pace-setting efforts in the recent two-day test at the Norfolk circuit, but the Subaru star eventually had to settle for second after Ingram's 1:56.003s lap time.

Ciceley Motorsport enjoyed a good solid session with Adam Morgan bringing his Mercedes A-Class home in third place, ahead of the BMW duo of Andrew Jordan and Colin Turkington.

Jack Goff and Rob Austin left it late to set their best times in the session, with the former getting the better of the battle by just 0.002s - the Eurotech Racing and Handy Motorsport drivers ending up sixth and seventh respectively.

There were some surprise packages in the lower end of the top ten with Chris Smiley, James Cole and Ollie Jackson completing the order. All 31 cars were out on track during the 40 minutes of running.

The second practice session takes place at 1210, whilst qualifying for Round 16 of the 2017 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship is scheduled for 1550. You can keep up to date with the action via our LIVE commentary and timing service here, whilst ITV will bring you live and exclusive coverage of qualifying over at

2017 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Free Practice 1 – Snetterton

1 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport 1m56.003s (92.13 mph)
Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +0.102s
3 Adam MORGAN (GBR) Ciceley Motorsport +0.414s
Andrew JORDAN (GBR) BMW Pirtek Racing +0.420s
5 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +0.429s
Jack GOFF (GBR) Eurotech Racing +0.547s
Rob AUSTIN (GBR) Handy Motorsport +0.549s
Chris SMILEY (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +0.744s
9 James COLE (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +0.983s
10 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) with Cobra Exhausts +1.025s
11 Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Simpson Racing +1.029s
12 Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +1.167s
13 Jake HILL (GBR) TAG Racing +1.193s
14 Dave NEWSHAM (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +1.236s
15 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +1.241s
16 Mat JACKSON (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo +1.296s
17 Rob COLLARD (GBR) Team BMW +1.319s
18 Michael EPPS (GBR) Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing +1.403s
19 Tom CHILTON (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +1.556s
20 Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +1.565s
21 Will BURNS (GBR) Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing +1.671s
22 Aron TAYLOR-SMITH (IRL) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +1.753s
23 Senna PROCTOR (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +1.769s
24 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +1.779s
25 Brett SMITH (GBR) Eurotech Racing +1.790s
26 Josh PRICE (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +1.940s
27 Ant WHORTON-EALES (GBR) with Cobra Exhausts +2.155s
28 Josh COOK (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +2.233s
29 Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport +2.457s
30 Martin DEPPER (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo +4.458s
31 Stewart LINES (GBR) Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport +4.782s © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home