Tom Ingram tops the times

26th August 2017

Speedworks Motorsport's Tom Ingram has set the benchmark in the opening free practice session at Rockingham, following on from his return to winning ways at Knockhill last time out.

The young Toyota star – a three-time race winner this season – was the only man to dip into the 1m22s time bracket, whilst Adam Morgan and Ashley Sutton completed the top three order.

Eurotech Racing's Jack Goff  and Ant Whorton-Eales in the with Cobra Exhausts Audi made for a youthful looking front five, and Ollie Jackson confirmed's potential by bringing his Audi S3 home in sixth.

BTC Norlin Racing looks set to continue its recent run of good form as Dave Newsham claimed seventh in his Chevrolet Cruze. The Inverness-based racer took a trio of top ten finishes for the impressive rookie outfit in Scotland earlier this month and the squad could be targeting its maiden podium here in Northamptonshire.

MG Racing RCIB Insurance's Josh Cook made a welcome return to the top ten after a difficult sequence of results, whilst the experienced Jason Plato and Rob Austin completed the leading order.

"Not a bad way to start the weekend," said Ingram. "We've still got some work to do to get the car to where we want it to be, but it's encouraging to be there or thereabouts."

"Rockingham should suit everyone – neither front-wheel driven or rear-wheel driven cars really have an advantage, just given the layout of the circuit, so we're hopeful we can be up there."

2017 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Free Practice 1 – Rockingham

1 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport 1m22.995s (84.14mph)
2 Adam MORGAN (GBR) Ciceley Motorsport +0.161s
Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +0.375s
Jack GOFF (GBR) Eurotech Racing +0.494s
Ant WHORTON-EALES (GBR) with Cobra Exhausts +0.555s
Ollie JACKSON (GBR) with Cobra Exhausts +0.570s
7 Dave NEWSHAM (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +0.622s
Josh COOK (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +0.632s
9 Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +0.659s
10 Rob AUSTIN (GBR) Handy Motorsport +0.718s
11 Tom CHILTON (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +0.759s
12 Chris SMILEY (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +0.774s
13 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +0.780s
14 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +0.824s
15 Jake HILL (GBR) TAG Racing +0.829s
16 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.832s
17 Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport +0.837s
18 Josh PRICE (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +0.839s
19 Rory BUTCHER (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo +0.898s
20 Senna PROCTOR (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +0.922s
21 Aron TAYLOR-SMITH (IRL) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +0.928s
22 Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +1.006s
23 Andrew JORDAN (GBR) BMW Pirtek Racing +1.093s
24 James COLE (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +1.128s
25 Mat JACKSON (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo +1.184s
26 Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Simpson Racing +1.299s
27 Martin DEPPER (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo +1.345s
28 Brett SMITH (GBR) Eurotech Racing +1.361s
29 Will BURNS (GBR) Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing +1.478s
30 Michael EPPS (GBR) Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing +1.586s
31 Rob COLLARD (GBR) Team BMW +1.600s
32 Stewart LINES (GBR) Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport +2.794s

More to follow... © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home