Tom Ingram tops first practice

27th April 2024

Team BRISTOL STREET MOTORS' Tom Ingram has topped the opening 2024 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship Free Practice session, as the new season got underway at Donington Park earlier this morning (27 April).

Ingram set an impressive 1:08.110s benchmark lap time than ended up more than three tenths of a second faster than the chasing pack, amidst cold temperatures around the National Circuit.

"It's good," said Ingram. "The car feels fantastic. It's only practice but it's always a nice feeling to be at the top."

The NAPA Racing UK duo of Dan Cammish and Dan Rowbottom were next in the order, ahead of Team BMW's Colin Turkington, as some the BTCC's big guns hit the front of the field early in the weekend.

Aiden Moffat had an encouraging run to fifth in the LKQ Euro Car Parts with Synetiq Toyota Corolla, whilst the second Team BMW of Adam Morgan was sixth.

Reigning champion Ash Sutton was the fastest driver during the recent Season Launch here earlier in the month, but had to settle for seventh in FP1, with the Evans Halshaw Power Maxed Racing Vauxhall of Árón Taylor-Smith next on the timesheets.

TOYOTA GAZOO Racing UK's Andrew Watson and NAPA Racing UK's Sam Osborne rounded out the top ten.

The BTCC is back on track for FP2 at 1235, before the all-new 'Quick Six' Qualifying kicks off at 1525. Qualifying will be streamed here LIVE via the ITVSport YouTube channel.

Free Practice 1 - Donington Park - Results

227Dan CAMMISHNAPA Racing UK1501:08.4330.32313
332Daniel ROWBOTTOMNAPA Racing UK2001:08.5510.44116
420Colin TURKINGTONTeam BMW2001:08.5890.47914
516Aiden MOFFATLKQ Euro Car Parts with SYNETIQ1501:08.6450.53513
633Adam MORGANTeam BMW1701:08.6890.57912
71Ashley SUTTONNAPA Racing UK1801:08.7530.64316
840Árón TAYLOR-SMITHEvans Halshaw Power Maxed Racing2001:08.8530.74316
911Andrew WATSONTOYOTA GAZOO Racing UK1601:08.9130.8039
1077Sam OSBORNENAPA Racing UK2101:08.9590.84913
1166Josh COOKLKQ Euro Car Parts with SYNETIQ1701:08.9770.86716
1224Jake HILLLaser Tools Racing with MB Motorsport1701:09.1611.05110
1312Rob HUFFTOYOTA GAZOO Racing UK1301:09.2271.11712
1414Ronan PEARSONTeam BRISTOL STREET MOTORS1501:09.3081.19811
1588Mikey DOBLEEvans Halshaw Power Maxed Racing1701:09.3201.2117
16222Chris SMILEYRestart Racing1701:09.9851.87516
1729Scott SUMPTONRestart Racing1701:10.2182.10816
1822Nick HALSTEADTeam BRISTOL STREET MOTORS1801:10.9562.84617
1918Daryl DELEONDuckhams Racing With Bartercard801:13.3285.2186
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home