Tom Ingram leads the way at Knockhill

12th August 2017

Speedworks Motorsport's Tom Ingram topped the times in the opening Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship Free Practice session at Knockhill.

On a damp yet drying circuit it was clear that lap times would tumble in the closing moments, and it was former championship leader Ingram that timed his flyer to perfection. With conditions improving all the time the Toyota Avensis circled the 1.3-mile track in 53.425s – albeit nearly two seconds off the qualifying lap record.

Such was the rate of improvement late on that one-time pace-setter Jason Plato eventually finished down in 18th as he was relegated down the order in the final minutes.

Eurotech's Jack Goff slipped into second at the finish, as he looks to back-up his pole position at Snetterton last time out, whilst Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo's Mat Jackson was third.

Rob Collard provided some respite for BMW as the title contender claimed fourth, although his stablemates Colin Turkington and Andrew Jordan were left languishing down the order.

BTC Norlin driver Dave Newsham delivered for the rookie squad by taking fifth overall, after briefly sitting atop of the order, whilst his team-mate Chris Smiley confirmed the pace of the Chevrolet by rising to eighth. In between the two grey BTC Norlin cars was Ciceley Motorsport's Adam Morgan and home hero Gordon Shedden.

Tom Chilton and James Cole rounded out the top ten in what was a relatively trouble free session. All 32 cars completed laps around the Scottish circuit and they will be back to do it all again at 12:50 for Free Practice Two.

Ingram said: "We called it earlier to switch to slicks just because we wanted to generate as much tyre temperature as possible. When you're on a circuit that's gone from wet to dry it's just about temperature really – whoever can generate the most will be quickest. I'm pleased we were quickest but it's not going indicative of true pace, just with how the session was and the track conditions were."

2017 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Free Practice 1 – Knockhill

1 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport 53.425s (85.37mph)
Jack GOFF (GBR) Eurotech Racing +0.642s
Mat JACKSON (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo +0.681s
4 Rob COLLARD (GBR) Team BMW +0.898s
5 Dave NEWSHAM (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +1.051s
6 Adam MORGAN (GBR) Ciceley Motorsport +1.112s
Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +1.143s
Chris SMILEY (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +1.149s
Tom CHILTON (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +1.167s
10 James COLE (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +1.301s
11 Jake HILL (GBR) TAG Racing +1.427s
12 Rory BUTCHER (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo +1.570s
13 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +1.594s
14 Rob AUSTIN (GBR) Handy Motorsport +1.772s
15 Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport +2.000s
16 Michael EPPS (GBR) Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing +3.301s
17 Aron TAYLOR-SMITH (IRL) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +3.321s
18 Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +3.346s
19 Josh COOK (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +3.611s
20 Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +3.685s
21 Will BURNS (GBR) Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing +3.734s
22 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +4.107s
23 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) with Cobra Exhausts +4.231s
24 Senna PROCTOR (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +4.480s
25 Andrew JORDAN (GBR) BMW Pirtek Racing +4.451s
26 Stewart LINES (GBR) Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport +4.565s
27 Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Simpson Racing +4.631s
28 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +4.649s
29 Brett SMITH (GBR) Eurotech Racing +4.732s
30 Martin DEPPER (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo +4.923s
31 Ant WHORTON-EALES (GBR) with Cobra Exhausts +4.986s
32 Josh PRICE (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +5.121s © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home