Team BMW


Fastest Laps











Team Name:
Team BMW
Team Principal:
Dick Bennetts
BMW 330e M Sport
Debut Season:
WSR, Longwood Business Park, Fordbridge Road, Sunbury on Thames, TW16 6AZ

West Surrey Racing is a legendary race team with a history dating back to 1981. Team Principal Dick Bennetts was instrumental in the careers of a number of motorsport superstars, including Ayrton Senna. 

WSR made the move into the BTCC in 1996 to run the factory Ford outfit, with Will Hoy taking a first win for the squad in 1998. After fielding ‘works’ Honda Accords between 1999-2000 and spearheading a factory MG effort from 2001-2003, in 2004, the team entered the championship independently, winning the Independents’ title at the first time of asking. A switch to BMW machinery in 2007 proved very successful, as Colin Turkington went on to lift the overall Drivers’ laurels in the final race of 2009. 

With the addition of eBay Motors support in 2012, drivers Rob Collard, Tom Onslow-Cole and Nick Foster piloted WSR to second in the standings. For 2013, the team built no fewer than three BMW 125i M Sport NGTC cars, with Collard and Foster joined by the returning Turkington. The car quickly showed its potential, and the Northern Irishman found himself challenging for the overall Drivers’ championship until the final event of the year. 

More titles followed before BMW officially aligned with West Surrey Racing for 2017 to field a trio of 125i M Sports. Turkington re-signed for the team, as Collard agreed a new deal with the Surrey squad and Andrew Jordan joined the stable under the BMW Pirtek Racing banner. 

The Northern Irishman won the title in an ultra-competitive 2018 campaign. His only triumph of the season came at Oulton Park, but with the wins shared between a record 17 different drivers, consistency proved to be king and Turkington came out on top to seal his third Drivers’ trophy – all achieved in West Surrey Racing-run BMW machinery. 

In 2019, WSR and BMW entered a trio of brand new 330i M Sports for Turkington, Jordan and Tom Oliphant. Turkington and Jordan battled for glory throughout the season, taking five and six wins respectively, with Turkington ultimately emerging on top to secure a record-equalling fourth title. 

Multiple victories, along with further Manufacturers’ and Teams’ honours have been notched over the seasons since and in 2024 Team BMW has retained its driver pairing of Colin Turkington and Adam Morgan. © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home