1st August 2020

The Team BMW pairing of Colin Turkington and Tom Oliphant topped the timesheets in BTCC FP2 at Donington Park, with the former leading the way in both practice sessions around the 1.98-mile National Circuit.

Reigning champion Turkington is wasting little time in firing out a warning to any hopeful challengers to his throne as he once again dipped well into the 1:09s lap time bracket.

Oliphant also impressed – as well as highlighting the overall qualities of the West Surrey Racing-run BMW 330i M Sports – as he circled the Derbyshire track just 0.244s shy of his illustrious team-mate.

Toyota Gazoo Racing UK with Ginsters' Tom Ingram was once again on the pace in third, as was the hugely talented Ash Sutton in fourth. Sutton has moved from Subaru machinery to the Laser Tools Racing Infiniti during the off-season and the 2017 champion already seems extremely comfortable in his new surroundings.

Rory Butcher showed the speed and potential of the new Motorbase Performance Ford Focus as the Scotsman set the fifth fastest time, ahead of the beautiful looking Hyundai i30N of Chris Smiley – also a brand new car on the grid for 2020, thanks to Excelr8 Motorsport.

Adam Morgan's Mercedes edged out Halfords Yuasa Racing's Matt Neal for seventh, whilst Senna Proctor also showed the prowess of the Hyundai with ninth.

Bobby Thompson enjoyed a promising session as he rounded out the top ten in the GKR Audi S3.

Jack Goff endured the first notable accident of the new BTCC season as his Team HARD-run Volkswagen CC went off at high speed at McLeans, bringing about a brief red flag spell. Goff's car sustained fairly significant damage on the left side and the Kent-based team are now working on repairs ahead of qualifying.  

Qualifying for Round 1 of the 2020 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship from Donington Park will take place at 15:20 with all the action being screened live and exclusively via

2020 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship – Free Practice 2 – Donington Park

1        Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW 1:09.705s
2        Tom OLIPHANT (GBR) Team BMW +0.244s
3        Tom INGRAM (GBR ) Toyota Gazoo Racing UK with Ginsters +0.418s
4        Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +0.509s
5        Rory BUTCHER (GBR) Motorbase Performance +0.513s
6        Chris SMILEY (GBR) Excelr8 Motorsport +0.527s
7        Adam MORGAN (GBR) Carlube TripleR Racing with Mac Tools +0.574s
8        Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.617s
9        Senna PROCTOR (GBR) Excelr8 Motorsport +0.651s
10      Bobby THOMPSON (GBR) GKR +0.696s11
11      Dan CAMMISH (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.705s
12      Jake HILL (GBR) MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square +0.708s
13      Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team Parker Racing +0.709s
14      Sam OSBORNE (GBR) MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square +0.762s
15      Josh COOK (GBR) BTC Racing +0.885s
16       Ollie JACKSON (GBR) Motorbase Performance +0.905s
17      Carl BOARDLEY (GBR) HUB Financial Solutions with Team HARD +0.974s
18      Tom CHILTON (GBR) BTC Racing +1.021s
19       Michael CREES (GBR) The Clever Baggers with BTC Racing +1.021s
20       Andy NEATE (GBR) Motorbase Performance +1.402s
21      James GORNALL (GBR) GKR +1.470s
22      Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +1.607s
23      Ollie BROWN  (GBR) RCIB Insurance with Fox Transport Team HARD +2.088s
24      Jack BUTEL (GBR) Carlube TripleR Racing with Mac Tools +3.420s
25      Nicolas HAMILTON (GBR) ROKiT Racing with Team HARD +3.952s
26      Jack GOFF (GBR) RCIB Insurance with Fox Transport NO TIME © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home