Sutton tops the timesheets in FP1

25th August 2018

Adrian Flux Subaru Racing's Ash Sutton topped the charts in the opening Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship practice session at Knockhill, heading the way from the Honda Civic Type R of Jack Goff and BMW Pirtek Racing's Andrew Jordan.

Sutton left it until his final lap – his 26th of the 40-minute session – to clock the fastest ever time around the 1.27-mile circuit. An all-new track surface was laid last winter and data always suggested that times would tumble this weekend, and four drivers have already dipped under the existing qualifying lap record.

WIX Racing with Eurotech's Goff looked to have earned the bragging rights until Sutton's flyer, whilst Jordan bounced back back well from early technical issues.

Jordan's WSR-run BMW 125i M Sport was stuck in pitlane for much of the first half of the session – suffering from steering issues – but he was soon back-on-track and setting the pace.

Rob Austin has notoriously gone well at Knockhill, having scored good results here in both his Audi A4 and Toyota Avensis in previous years, and he seems to be carrying over that form with the all-new Alfa Giulietta. Austin took the fourth fastest time for DUO Motorsport with HMS Racing, ahead of Team HARD with Brisky Racing's Mike Bushell.

Tom Chilton was sixth in his Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher, whilst the Mercedes duo of Tom Oliphant and Adam Morgan were next up in the timesheets. The Ciceley boys held a one-two early on but eventually had to settle for a solid seventh and eighth places ahead of Sam Tordoff's Ford Focus and Tom Ingram's Toyota.

There was one brief stoppage during the session when Matt Simpson went off at Turn 3 and his Simpson Racing Honda Civic Type R had to be retrieved. 

Free Practice 2 will take place at 1230 before the all-important qualifying session at 1525, which will be streamed live via

2018 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Free Practice 1 – Knockhill

Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing 51.293s
Jack GOFF (GBR) WIX Racing with Eurotech +0.058s
3 Andrew JORDAN (GBR) BMW Pirtek Racing +0.162s
Rob AUSTIN (GBR) DUO Motorsport with HMS Racing +0.226s
5 Mike BUSHELL (GBR) Trade Price Cars with Brisky Racing +0.250s
Tom CHILTON (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher +0.282s
Tom OLIPHANT (GBR) Ciceley Motorsport +0.336s
8 Adam MORGAN (GBR) Mac Tools with Ciceley Motorsport +0.347s
Sam TORDOFF (GBR) Team GardX Racing with Motorbase +0.352s
10 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +0.423s
11 Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team Parker Racing +0.438s
12 Josh COOK (GBR) Power Maxed TAG Racing +0.455s
13 Chris SMILEY (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +0.470s
14 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +0.488s
15 Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +0.530s
16 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) AmD with Cobra Exhausts +0.589s
17 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.593s
18 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +0.616s
19 Brett SMITH (GBR) WIX Racing with Eurotech +0.628s
20 Ricky COLLARD (GBR) Team BMW +0.706s
21 Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Simpson Racing +0.746s
22 Dan CAMMISH (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.777s
23 Rory BUTCHER (GBR) AmD with AutoAid/RCIB Insurance Racing +0.808s
24 James COLE (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher +0.845s
25 Bobby THOMPSON (GBR) Team HARD with Trade Price Cars +0.869s
26 Senna PROCTOR (GBR) Power Maxed TAG Racing +0.921s
27 Dan LLOYD (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +0.970s
28 Sam SMELT (GBR) AmD with Cobra Exhausts +1.248s
29 Carl BOARDLEY (GBR) Team HARD with Trade Price Cars +1.280s
30 Glynn GEDDIE (GBR) AmD with AutoAid/RCIB Insurance Racing +1.738s
31 Ollie PIDGLEY (GBR) Trade Price Cars with Brisky Racing +3.160s © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home