Sutton returns to standings lead with 40th BTCC career victory

9th June 2024

The BTCC saved the best until last with an exciting reverse grid race at Thruxton, as Ash Sutton returned to the top of the standings with his first win of the season and the 40th of his impressive career so far.

Starting from fourth on the grid Sutton initially dropped back and was embroiled in a scrap with some of his rivals, but he soon set about rising back through the order.

He saw off NAPA Racing UK team-mate Dan Cammish and he eventually got the better of long-time leader Adam Morgan.

Morgan was then embroiled in another incident, as on-the-track race two winner Tom Ingram must have had a case of Déjà vu as he approached the final chicane late on in a fight for fourth.

Team BRISTOL STREET MOTORS' Ingram looked to have got past Morgan before being hit in the side, forcing him to straight-line the chicane for the second successive race.

Ingram rejoined in third to complete the podium behind race-winner Sutton and Cammish – the latter having taken a podium hat-trick during the day.

Morgan held onto fourth ahead of double race winner Hill in the sister Laser Tools Racing with MB Motorsport BMW, whilst LKQ Euro Car Parts with SYNETIQ's Josh Cook and Team BMW's Colin Turkington were next in the order.

Árón Taylor-Smith (Evans Halshaw Power Maxed Racing), Rob Huff (TOYOTA GAZOO Racing UK) and Ronan Pearson (Team BRISTOL STREET MOTORS) completed the top ten order.

Thruxton - Race 3 - Classification

11Ashley SUTTONNAPA Racing UK1927:20.0971:15.7532
227Dan CAMMISHNAPA Racing UK1927:24.5464.4491:16.5483
3100Tom INGRAMTeam BRISTOL STREET MOTORS1927:28.0597.9621:16.6225
433Adam MORGANTeam BMW1927:28.1368.0391:16.4293
524Jake HILLLaser Tools Racing with MB Motorsport1927:28.2958.1981:16.5287
666Josh COOKLKQ Euro Car Parts with SYNETIQ1927:28.4738.3761:16.4572
720Colin TURKINGTONTeam BMW1927:29.7439.6461:16.5773
840Árón TAYLOR-SMITHEvans Halshaw Power Maxed Racing1927:30.09910.0021:16.9793
912Rob HUFFTOYOTA GAZOO Racing UK1927:30.37210.2751:17.2926
1014Ronan PEARSONTeam BRISTOL STREET MOTORS1927:31.08710.991:17.3989
1188Mikey DOBLEEvans Halshaw Power Maxed Racing1927:31.41211.3151:17.2154
1211Andrew WATSONTOYOTA GAZOO Racing UK1927:32.95912.8621:16.9055
1377Sam OSBORNENAPA Racing UK1927:33.94013.8431:16.9085
14222Chris SMILEYRestart Racing1927:34.82414.7271:17.42815
1516Aiden MOFFATLKQ Euro Car Parts with SYNETIQ1927:35.28315.1861:17.0764
1629Scott SUMPTONRestart Racing1927:53.25333.1561:17.7293
1732Daniel ROWBOTTOMNAPA Racing UK1827:31.7361 Lap1:16.5705
DNF22Nick HALSTEADTeam BRISTOL STREET MOTORS1826:32.5441 Lap1:19.8873
NC18Daryl DELEONDuckhams Racing With Bartercard1228:40.5837 Laps1:18.06010
DNF3Tom CHILTONTeam BRISTOL STREET MOTORS79:17.98212 Laps1:17.3514 © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home