24th October 2021

Laser Tools Racing's Ash Sutton completed his 2021 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship title-winning campaign in style by taking victory in the final contest at Brands Hatch.

The #1 Infiniti driver had already secured enough points in the second bout to become provisional champion, so with the pressure now off the 27-year-old blasted from fourth on the grid to take his fifth victory of the season.

"Obviously, it was so good and the best way to send [the campaign] off," said Sutton. "I could have the handcuffs off and do what I wanted to do, and it was absolutely phenomenal.

"We were placing bets over the radio, I think I lost all of them! But it’s fantastic, to finish almost under the lights, and celebrate through the last corner with the smoke pouring off the back of the car was fantastic.

"It’s phenomenal, to have everyone here, for them to hang around now is absolutely mega."

Halfords Yuasa Racing's Dan Rowbottom made it hard for Sutton, before he had to fend off the charging Ginsters-backed Hyundai of Tom Ingram – completing the podium positions in the season finale around the 2.43-mile Grand Prix circuit.

Ingram headed home the feisty MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square Ford of Jake Hill and BTC Racing's Josh Cook – the young trio having put up a valiant championship challenge throughout the the year.

Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport's Tom Chilton ended one of his most competitive weekends of the season with sixth, while Halfords Racing with Cataclean's Gordon Shedden also enjoyed a stellar day with seventh.

Jack Goff was an impressive eighth in the Team HARD-run CUPRA, whilst the manufacturer-backed Toyota of Rory Butcher and Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing's Jason Plato rounded out the top ten.

2021 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship – Race 3 – Brands Hatch GP

1            Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Laser Tools Racing 18 laps
2            Daniel ROWBOTTOM (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +1.369s
3            Tom INGRAM (GBR) Ginsters EXCELR8 with +1.502s
4            Jake HILL (GBR) MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square +3.274s  
5            Josh COOK (GBR) BTC Racing +8.001s
6            Tom CHILTON (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +8.960s
7            Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +9.682s
8            Jack GOFF (GBR) Team HARD. with Autobrite Direct +10.043s
9            Rory BUTCHER (GBR) Toyota Gazoo Racing UK +11.992s
10          Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing +13.002s
11          Ollie JACKSON (GBR) MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square +14.806s
12          Chris SMILEY (GBR) Ginsters EXCELR8 with +15.345s
13          Daniel LLOYD (GBR) Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing +15.962s
14          Árón TAYLOR-SMITH (IRL) Team HARD. with HUB Financial Solutions +17.214s
15          Tom OLIPHANT (GBR) Team BMW +17.461s
16          Adam MORGAN (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +17.697s
17          Sam OSBORNE (GBR) Racing with Wera & Photon Group +19.176s
18          Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +19.397s
19          Senna PROCTOR (GBR) BTC Racing +20.545s
20          Jade EDWARDS (GBR) PHSC with BTC Racing +21.143s
21          Sam SMELT (GBR) Toyota Gazoo Racing UK +21.462s
22          Andy NEATE (GBR) Racing with Wera & Photon Group +31.965s
23          Nicolas HAMILTON (GBR) ROKiT Racing with iQuoto Online Trading +32.503s
24          Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team BMW +42.127s
25          Andy WILMOT (GBR) EXCELR8 with +1 lap
26          Jack MITCHELL (GBR) Team HARD. with Autobrite Direct +14 laps
27          Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +17 laps
28          Carl BOARDLEY (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +18 laps
29          Rick PARFITT (GBR) EXCELR8 with +18 laps © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home