Simpson sets the pace in FP2

9th June 2018

Matt Simpson has topped the second Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship Free Practice session at Oulton Park, setting the quickest lap time of the weekend so far.

The Honda Civic Type R driver was already inside the top six in the opening run this morning and he backed up that showing with a stellar display in final practice. The Simpson Racing man has previously set a best of eighth in qualifying – at Brands Hatch earlier this year – and the Middlesex driver will be looking to go even better later this afternoon.

Brett Smith and Rob Austin were others to show speed in both practice sessions, with the duo setting the second and third times respectively in the afternoon segment.

BMW boys Colin Turkington and Andrew Jordan are looming ominously in fourth and fifth with both expected to go well here this weekend. The BMW 125i M Sport has always been a potent weapon around the 2.23-mile circuit and both Turkington and Jordan are past winners at the picturesque Cheshire track.

Halfords Yuasa Racing failed to show its hand in FP1 – as is often the case for the Honda squad – but this time Dan Cammish fired his stealth-like machine into the top six, whilst his team-mate Matt Neal completed the top ten positions.

In-between the two works Hondas was the trio of Tom Chilton, Sam Tordoff and Jack Goff – all experienced BTCC race winners.

It really is anyones guess as to who will claim pole position for Round 10 of the 2018 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship, but we will find out from 15:20 when the all-important session gets underway. You can keep up to date with the action right here, and via our official social media channels, not forgetting that qualifying will be streamed live and exclusively at

2018 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Free Practice 2 – Oulton Park

Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Simpson Racing 1m25.798s
Brett SMITH (GBR) WIX Racing with Eurotech +0.360s
Rob AUSTIN (GBR) DUO Motorsport with HMS Racing +0.585s
4 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +0.698s
Andrew JORDAN (GBR) BMW Pirtek Racing +0.771s
Dan CAMMISH (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.772s
Tom CHILTON (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher +0.796s
Sam TORDOFF (GBR) Team GardX Racing with Motorbase +0.802s
Jack GOFF (GBR) WIX Racing with Eurotech +0.803s
10 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.812s
11 Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +0.845s
12 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +0.856s
13 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) AmD with Cobra Exhausts +0.921s
14 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +0.950s
15 Rob COLLARD (GBR) Team BMW +1.028s
16 Chris SMILEY (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +1.047s
17 Jake HILL (GBR) Trade Price Cars with Brisky Racing +1.105s
18 Tom OLIPHANT (GBR) Ciceley Motorsport +1.112s
19 Adam MORGAN (GBR) Mac Tools with Ciceley Motorsport +1.147s
20 Dan LLOYD (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +1.167s
21 Rory BUTCHER (GBR) AmD with AutoAid/RCIB Insurance Racing +1.209s
22 Senna PROCTOR (GBR) Power Maxed TAG Racing +1.233s
23 Michael CAINE (GBR) Team HARD with Trade Price Cars +1.357s
24 James COLE (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher +1.371s
25 Bobby THOMPSON (GBR) Team HARD with Trade Price Cars +1.575s
26 Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +1.673s
27 Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team Parker Racing +1.711s
28 Sam SMELT (GBR) AmD with Cobra Exhausts +1.935s
29 Josh COOK (GBR) Power Maxed TAG Racing +2.011s
30 Tom BOARDMAN (GBR) AmD with AutoAid/RCIB Insurance Racing +2.104s
31 Josh PRICE (GBR) Autoglym Academy Racing +2.335s
32 Mike BUSHELL (GBR) Trade Price Cars with Brisky Racing NO TIME © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home