28th August 2021

Halfords Racing with Cataclean's Gordon Shedden set the quickest lap time so far today in the final Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship free practice session at Thruxton.

Shedden – the most successful current driver around the Hampshire speedbowl with seven career victories to his name – is expected to go well this weekend, and knows that a stellar Sunday could thrust him into the championship contention.

Team BMW's Tom Oliphant was second in the order, ahead of Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport's Adam Morgan – the latter having enjoyed an encouraging day's work so far after a top four result in the first session.

Toyota Gazoo UK Racing's Rory Butcher was fourth, whilst Daniel Rowbottom confirmed the pace of the Halfords Racing with Cataclean Hondas with fifth place.

BTC Racing's Senna Proctor was sixth – another likely contender for pole position later this afternoon – whilst title challengers Tom Ingram (Ginsters EXCELR8 with and Jake Hill (MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square) were next in the FP2 classification.

Laser Tools Racing's Ash Sutton and BTC Racing's Josh Cook completed the top ten positions, although there's every chance they'll be fighting further up the order during qualifying.

All cars made it onto the track, which included Team BMW's Stephen Jelley, as his WSR squad impressively repaired his 330i M Sport following this morning's hefty shunt on the run out of Allard's.

The 29 BTCC cars will be back on-track at 1445 for qualifying, which will be streamed live via

2021 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship – Free Practice 2 – Thruxton

1        Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +1:15.537s
2        Tom OLIPHANT (GBR) Team BMW +0.225s
3        Adam MORGAN (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +0.358s
4        Rory BUTCHER (GBR) Toyota Gazoo Racing UK +0.371s
5        Daniel ROWBOTTOM (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +0.381s
6        Senna PROCTOR(GBR) BTC Racing +0.529s
7        Tom INGRAM (GBR) Ginsters EXCELR8 with +0.610s
8        Jake HILL (GBR) MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square +0.669s
9        Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +0.700s
10      Josh COOK (GBR) BTC Racing +0.773s
11      Jack GOFF (GBR) Team HARD. with Autobrite Direct +0.837s
12      Chris SMILEY (GBR) Ginsters EXCELR8 with +0.877s
13      Jade EDWARDS (GBR) PHSC with BTC Racing +0.954s
14      Tom CHILTON (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +1.070s
15      Daniel LLOYD (GBR) Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing +1.141s
16      Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing +1.233s
17      Árón TAYLOR-SMITH (IRL) Team HARD. with HUB Financial Solutions +1.263s
18      Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +1.272s
19      Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team BMW +1.290s
20      Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +1.375s
21      Sam OSBORNE (GBR) Racing with Wera & Photon Group +1.458s
22      Ollie JACKSON (GBR) MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square +1.544s
23      Sam SMELT (GBR) Toyota Gazoo Racing UK +1.565s
24      Jack MITCHELL (GBR) Team HARD. with Autobrite Direct +1.605s
25      Jack BUTEL (GBR) EXCELR8 with +1.917s
26      Carl BOARDLEY (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +1.969s
27      Rick PARFITT (GBR) EXCELR8 with +2.491s
28      Nicolas HAMILTON (GBR) ROKiT Racing with iQuoto Online Trading +2.881s
29      Paul RIVETT (GBR) Racing with Wera & Photon Group +15.438s © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home