Rowbottom ready to fight for pole position

22nd June 2024

NAPA Racing UK's Dan Rowbottom reached the top of the timesheets during FP2 as the BTCC action continues to heat up at Oulton Park.

Team BRISTOL STREET MOTORS' Tom Ingram set an early benchmark that was soon eclipsed by the NAPA Racing UK duo of Dan Cammish and Rowbottom, but the best was yet to come for the 2022 BTCC Champion.

The #80 Hyundai clocked a 1:24.719s with 15 minutes remaining – a time already faster than last year’s pole position – but Ingram then went even quicker on his next tour.

Ingram’s 1:24.646s looked to be good enough but team-mate Tom Chilton hauled his Hyundai to within 0.064s of P1, before Rowbottom produced his sensational flier to eclipse Ingram by 0.110s.

Evans Halshaw Power Maxed Racing’s Aron Taylor-Smith slipped into third, ahead of Chilton and reigning champion Ash Sutton in his #1 Ford Focus.

Cammish was relegated down to sixth by the finish with Adam Morgan's lead BMW only being seventh, ahead of Mikey Doble's Vauxhall Astra.

The Toyota duo of Rob Huff (TOYOTA GAZOO Racing UK) and Aiden Moffat (LKQ Euro Car Parts with SYNETIQ) completed the top ten although the Japanese marque will be hoping for more during qualifying later this afternoon.

Qualifying for Round 13 of the 2024 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship takes place at 1535 and will be streamed live via the ITV Sport YouTube channel.

Oulton Park – Free Practice 2 – Final Classification

132Daniel ROWBOTTOMNAPA Racing UK171:24.53614
280Tom INGRAMTeam BRISTOL STREET MOTORS201:24.6460.1112
340Árón TAYLOR-SMITHEvans Halshaw Power Maxed Racing171:24.6610.12517
43Tom CHILTONTeam BRISTOL STREET MOTORS161:24.7100.17414
51Ashley SUTTONNAPA Racing UK171:24.7680.23214
627Dan CAMMISHNAPA Racing UK171:24.9950.45913
733Adam MORGANTeam BMW201:25.0250.48920
888Mikey DOBLEEvans Halshaw Power Maxed Racing171:25.1170.58111
912Rob HUFFTOYOTA GAZOO Racing UK181:25.1570.62115
1016Aiden MOFFATLKQ Euro Car Parts with SYNETIQ181:25.1640.62816
1111Andrew WATSONTOYOTA GAZOO Racing UK181:25.3010.76515
1224Jake HILLLaser Tools Racing with MB Motorsport171:25.5941.0589
1314Ronan PEARSONTeam BRISTOL STREET MOTORS141:25.6241.0887
1418Daryl DELEONDuckhams Racing With Bartercard181:25.7141.17815
1520Colin TURKINGTONTeam BMW201:25.7341.1987
16222Chris SMILEYRestart Racing171:25.7951.25912
1777Sam OSBORNENAPA Racing UK181:26.0501.51412
1866Josh COOKLKQ Euro Car Parts with SYNETIQ131:26.0841.5483
1929Scott SUMPTONRestart Racing191:26.7512.2159
2022Nick HALSTEADTeam BRISTOL STREET MOTORS191:26.8052.26917 © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home