9th October 2021

Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing hit the top of the timesheets in the second Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship free practice session at Donington Park, as Jason Plato vaulted his Vauxhall Astra to P1 in the closing minutes.

Chris Smiley completed a successful practice programme in the Ginsters EXCELR8 with Hyundai, as he followed up solid morning pace with a run to second-fastest in the final session.

BTC Racing's Josh Cook repeated his FP1 performance by taking third, as the title outsider looks to stay in touch with the leading pack this weekend.

"We had to go through a few procedures after FP1 because we had a problem," said Cook. "The guys had to do a steering rack change between FP1 and FP2, which is quite a big job on this car. They had a lot of work to do. So, we just had to shake the car down again, make sure it was all good.

"The balance is in the car, I’m fairly happy with that. It doesn’t really need anything. We’ve just got to hope that our balance transfers over when we put new tyres on.

"We’re going to have to make this a good weekend. After Silverstone, which was a tough weekend for us, we want to come back and at least have some fun. Of course, we want to win because winning is fun, but if we can’t do that we’ll just have to put on a good show."

Gordon Shedden was fourth for Halfords Racing with Cataclean, whilst the Team HARD stable enjoyed one of its most competitive sessions, with Jack Mitchell and Aron Taylor-Smith in fifth and sixth respectively.

Rory Butcher (Toyota Gazoo Racing UK) and Tom Ingram (Ginsters EXCELR8 with – often so inseparable on-track during recent campaigns – were seventh and eighth, whilst the Team BMW duo of Stephen Jelley and Tom Oliphant rounded out the top ten.

Qualifying for Round 25 of the 2021 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship will take place at 1435 and will be streamed live via

2021 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship – Free Practice 2 – Donington Park

1             Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing  1:09.482s
2             Chris SMILEY (GBR) Ginsters EXCELR8 with +0.090s
3            Josh COOK (GBR) BTC Racing +0.223s
4            Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +0.224s
5             Jack MITCHELL (GBR) Team HARD. with Autobrite Direct +0.269s
6             Árón TAYLOR-SMITH (IRL) Team HARD. with HUB Financial Solutions +0.282s
7            Rory BUTCHER (GBR) Toyota Gazoo Racing UK +0.289s
8             Tom INGRAM (GBR) Ginsters EXCELR8 with +0.294s
9             Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team BMW +0.373s
10          Tom OLIPHANT (GBR) Team BMW +0.389s
11          Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +0.392s
12          Daniel LLOYD (GBR) Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing +0.398s
13          Tom CHILTON (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +0.445s
14          Jake HILL (GBR) MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square +0.504s
15          Senna PROCTOR(GBR) BTC Racing +0.509s
16          Adam MORGAN (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +0.517s
17          Daniel ROWBOTTOM (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +0.529s
18          Sam SMELT (GBR) Toyota Gazoo Racing UK +0.543s
19          Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +0.633s
20          Jack BUTEL (GBR) EXCELR8 with +0.636s
21          Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +0.783s
22          Jade EDWARDS (GBR) PHSC with BTC Racing +0.907s
23          Sam OSBORNE (GBR) Racing with Wera & Photon Group +1.009s
24          Carl BOARDLEY (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +1.095s
25          Ollie JACKSON (GBR) MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square +1.119s
26          Andy NEATE (GBR) Racing with Wera & Photon Group +1.208s
27          Jack GOFF (GBR) Team HARD. with Autobrite Direct +1.224s
28          Nicolas HAMILTON (GBR) ROKiT Racing with iQuoto Online Trading +1.506s
29          Rick PARFITT (GBR) EXCELR8 with +1.761s © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home