Plato tops the times in FP1

13th August 2016

Silverline Subaru BMR Racing's Jason Plato topped the times in the opening Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship practice session at Knockhill, edging out the Speedworks Toyota of Tom Ingram by just 0.007s.

The session proved extremely close around the tight and twisty 1.27-mile circuit, with the top 22 drivers separated by less than a second.

Plato's mid-session lap bodes well for the tin-top legend as he looks to score his maiden pole position for Subaru, in what will be his 500th BTCC race tomorrow. It is the first time the double champion has set the pace in any practice or qualifying session so far this season, with the rear-wheel drive Levorg seemingly suiting the contours of Knockhill.

Ashley Sutton's MG and Adam Morgan's Mercedes were covered by 0.005s in third and fourth respectively, whilst Sam Tordoff and Andrew Jordan made it six different marques in the top six. Jordan suffered some disappointment, however, as his Pirtek Racing Ford Focus came to halt out on track with a tyre issue.

There was a second stoppage late on, which scuppered several drivers' chances of improving, leaving the young gun trio of Aiden Moffat, Josh Cook and Jack Goff next on the timesheets.

Honda's home hero Gordon Shedden rounded out the top ten as Halfords Yuasa Racing carried out its usual steady start to the opening practice session.

Final practice commences at 12:10, before the all-important qualifying session takes place at 15:50, which will be streamed live via

2016 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – FP1 – Knockhill:

1 Jason PLATO (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing 52.545s
Tom INGRAM (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +0.007s
3 Ashley SUTTON (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +0.189s
Adam MORGAN (GBR) WIX Racing +0.194s
5 Sam TORDOFF (GBR) Team JCT600 Racing with GardX +0.306s
Andrew JORDAN (GBR) Motorbase Performance +0.315s
Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +0.318s
Josh COOK (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +0.367s
9 Jack GOFF (GBR) Team IHG Rewards Club +0.371s
10 Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing 0.393s
11 Rob AUSTIN (GBR) Handy Motorsport +0.446s
12 Jake HILL (GBR) RCIB Insurance Racing +0.479s
13 Robert COLLARD (GBR) Team JCT600 Racing with GardX +0.486s
14 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +0.487s
15 Hunter ABBOTT (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +0.599s
16 Jeff SMITH (GBR) Eurotech Racing +0.633s
17 James COLE (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +0.637s
18 Aron SMITH (IRL) BKR +0.638s
19 Mat JACKSON (GBR) Motorbase Performance +0.639s
20 Dave NEWSHAM (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +0.839s
21 Warren SCOTT (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +0.973s
22 Martin DEPPER (GBR) Eurotech Racing +0.996s
23 Stewart LINES (GBR) Maximum Motorsport +1.124s
24 Michael CAINE (GBR) TLC/RCIB Insurance Racing +1.203s
25 Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +1.241s
26 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) AmD +1.275s
27 Michael EPPS (GBR) RCIB Insurance Racing +1.314s
28 Alex MARTIN (GBR) Dextra Racing +1.383s
29 Mark HOWARD (GBR) BKR +2.131s
30 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +2.255s
31 Dan WELCH (GBR) Goodestone Racing +3.168s © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home