Morgan mops up in FP1

17th September 2016

Adam Morgan topped the times in the opening free practice session at Silverstone although damp conditions prevented many of the top runners from completing a representative lap.

The weekend's action kicked off with drizzle in the air but it quickly turned into a light shower with only a number of drivers having set a time in the best of the conditions.

WIX Racing's Morgan clocked his lap in the opening minutes and he was quickly followed by a trio of unlikely contenders. Ollie Jackson, Matt Simpson and Stewart Lines all enjoyed impressive runs, ending the session in second, fourth and seventh respectively.

Championship challenger Mat Jackson was third on the timesheets with many expecting the Motorbase Ford Focus to go well around the 1.64-mile National circuit. Jackson has won at Silverstone in three of the last four seasons and a similar success this weekend could cement his title credentials.

Young guns Jake Hill and Tom Ingram wedged their Toyotas between the times of Simpson and Lines, whilst Ashley Sutton MG6 came home in eighth place.

The experienced duo of Rob Austin and Matt Neal completed the top ten order, although with more than ten seconds separating the field it's clear that times should improve significantly later today.

Dry but cloudy conditions are expected for free practice two and qualifying with the sessions commencing at 12:45 and 15:45 respectively. You can keep up to date with all the action via our LIVE ZONE, while qualifying will also be streamed live via

2016 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Free Practice 1 – Silverstone:

Adam MORGAN (GBR) WIX Racing 1m03.540s (92.94 mph)
Ollie JACKSON (GBR) AmD +0.822s
3 Mat JACKSON (GBR) Motorbase Performance +1.365s
4 Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +1.563s
Jake HILL (GBR) RCIB Insurance Racing +1.572s
6 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +1.812s
7 Stewart LINES (GBR) Maximum Motorsport +1.921s
Ash SUTTON (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +2.175s
Rob AUSTIN (GBR) Handy Motorsport +2.406s
10 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +2.555s
11 Josh COOK (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +2.564s
12 Hunter ABBOTT (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +2.653s
13 Warren SCOTT (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +2.744s
14 Sam TORDOFF (GBR) Team JCT600 Racing with GardX +2.874s
15 Aron SMITH (IRL) BKR +2.903s
16 Michael EPPS (GBR) RCIB Insurance Racing +2.920s
17 Dan WELCH (GBR) Goodestone Racing +2.923s
18 Martin DEPPER (GBR) Eurotech Racing +2.928s
19 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +2.968s
20 Jack GOFF (GBR) Team IHG Rewards Club +2.996s
21 Robert COLLARD (GBR) Team JCT600 Racing with GardX +3.007s
22 Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +3.010s
23 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +3.039s
24 James COLE (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +3.314s
25 Jeff SMITH (GBR) Eurotech Racing +3.512s
26 Mark HOWARD (GBR) BKR +3.666s
27 Kelvin FLETCHER (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +3.940s
28 Tony GILHAM (GBR) TLC/RCIB Insurance Racing +4.462s
29 Alex MARTIN (GBR) Dextra Racing +4.708s
30 Jason PLATO (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +7.208s
31 Andrew JORDAN (GBR) Motorbase Performance +10.156s © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home