Josh Cook doubles up

1st October 2016

Reigning Jack Sears Trophy winner Josh Cook clocked the fastest time overall in the final BTCC practice run at Brands Hatch, doubling up on his pace-setting form from the opening session.

It was almost a carbon copy of FP1 in every sense as conditions improved throughout the 40-minutes of running.

Three red flags halted proceedings as Matt Simpson went off twice while Stewart Lines slide into the gravel at Paddock Hill Bend brought about the final stoppage. This set-up a three-minute dash to the chequered flag, which Cook again timed to perfection, proving the pace of the MG6 in greasy conditions.

The time was still some three seconds slower than this morning's effort, but with the weather forecast remaining unclear for this afternoon's qualifying session it would suggest that Cook's ballast-free MG6 is likely to feature.

"Being just free practice, P1 doesn’t count for that much at this stage and I’m not reading a great deal into it, but of course it’s always nice to be quickest," he said. "The Triple Eight boys have done a really good job with the MG6 and we have a decent baseline. I’m happy with how we improved over the two sessions, although we still have a little bit of work to do in terms of consistency. Qualifying will be a completely different scenario, but the target has to be the front row of the grid."

The Ford Focus, Honda Civic Type R and Toyota Avensis were other cars expected to go well on the greasy surface, and so it proved as Mat Jackson, Gordon Shedden and Tom Ingram followed in the timesheets.

Aron Smith, who became the 12th different winner this season at Rockingham, was fifth in the order while Ash Sutton confirmed MG's pace with a top six finish.

Title contenders Andrew Jordan and Colin Turkington were seventh and ninth respectively while Adam Morgan and Michael Epps took the other top ten positions.

2016 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Free Practice 2 – Brands Hatch:

Josh COOK (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance 1m43.790s
2 Mat JACKSON (GBR) Motorbase Performance +0.267s
3 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +0.293s
4 Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.330s
5 Aron SMITH (IRL) BKR +0.427s
Ash SUTTON (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +0.440s
Andrew JORDAN (GBR) Motorbase Performance +0.669s
Adam MORGAN (GBR) WIX Racing +0.680s
Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +0.709s
10 Michael EPPS (GBR) RCIB Insurance Racing +0.766s
11 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) AmD +0.840s
12 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.867s
13 Jake HILL (GBR) RCIB Insurance Racing +1.266s
14 Sam TORDOFF (GBR) Team JCT600 Racing with GardX +1.292s
15 Jason PLATO (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +1.358s
16 Hunter ABBOTT (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +1.418s
17 Rob AUSTIN (GBR) Handy Motorsport +1.619s
18 James COLE (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +1.729s
19 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +1.749s
20 Dan WELCH (GBR) Goodestone Racing +1.980s
21 Jack GOFF (GBR) Team IHG Rewards Club +2.318s
22 Warren SCOTT (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +2.365s
23 Robert COLLARD (GBR) Team JCT600 Racing with GardX +2.392s
24 Jeff SMITH (GBR) Eurotech Racing +2.840s
25 Stewart LINES (GBR) Maximum Motorsport +3.213s
26 Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +3.381s
27 Tony GILHAM (GBR) TLC/RCIB Insurance Racing +3.462s
28 Kelvin FLETCHER (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +3.956s
29 Martin DEPPER (GBR) Eurotech Racing +4.027s
30 Mark HOWARD (GBR) BKR +7.650s
31 Alex MARTIN (GBR) Dextra Racing © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home