Jordan tops the times at Thruxton

7th May 2016

Andrew Jordan, in his Pirtek Racing Ford Focus, topped the time-sheets in opening Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship free practice session at Thruxton.

Big things are expected of Jordan this weekend as he arrives at the Hampshire venue ballast-free and with an impressive history at the UK's fastest circuit. The 2013 champion has taken pole position in three of the last four seasons here, although his return of only one victory will be something he'll be looking to improve upon.

The Motorbase Performance driver was quickly into his stride during FP1 and moved to the summit of the timesheets relatively early on, whilst MG's Josh Cook slotted in behind - just 0.024s off the pace.

Although there were improvements for some late on, few made inroads at the top of the order, whilst others faced far bigger problems.

Sam Tordoff's session ended prematurely with a fuel pressure problem in his BMW 125i M Sports while Colin Turkington's Subaru came to a halt at the final chicane. There was some joy for the Ulsterman, however, as he set the third fastest time in the session.

A red flag was thrown in the final ten minutes when Adam Morgan suffered a high speed crash on the exit of Allard. Morgan was fine, but the same unfortunately couldn't be said for his WIX Racing Mercedes, which is need of some repair. The Lancastrian ended the session inside the top ten.

Mat Jackson backed up the pace of the Ford Focus by finishing fourth, ahead of local man Rob Collard in his Team JCT600 with GardX BMW.

Tom Ingram endured a puncture punctuated session, with a number of teams adjusting camber settings in search of the ultimate set-up at the high-speed circuit, but the young race winner still brought his Speedworks Toyota home in sixth.

Jack Goff and Sam Tordoff made in three BMWs in the top eight, whilst Eurotech's Jeff Smith followed in ninth.

2016 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Free Practice 1 – Thruxton:

Andrew JORDAN (GBR) Motorbase Performance 1m16.814
Josh COOK (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +0.024s
3 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +0.408s
4 Mat JACKSON (GBR) Motorbase Performance +0.420s
5 Robert COLLARD (GBR) Team JCT600 Racing with GardX +0.557s
6 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +0.583s
7 Sam TORDOFF (GBR) Team JCT600 Racing with GardX +0.729s
8 Jack GOFF (GBR) Team IHG Rewards Club +0.767s
Jeff SMITH (GBR) Eurotech Racing +0.773s
10 Adam MORGAN (GBR) WIX Racing +0.822s
11 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.835s
12 Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.860s
13 Ashley SUTTON (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +0.919s
14 Hunter ABBOTT (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +1.053s
15 Daniel LLOYD (GBR) Eurotech Racing +1.069s
16 Rob AUSTIN (GBR) Handy Motorsport +1.088s
17 Jake HILL (GBR) RCIB Insurance Racing +1.191s
18 Aron SMITH (IRL) BKR +1.377s
19 Daniel WELCH (GBR) Goodstone Racing +1.482s
20 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) AmD
21 Jason PLATO (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +1.547s
22 Michael EPPS (GBR) RCIB Insurance Racing +1.659s
23 Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +1.743s
24 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +1.894s
25 James COLE (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +1.904s
26 Mark HOWARD (GBR) BKR +2.085s
27 Martin DEPPER (GBR) Eurotech Racing +2.190s
28 Warren SCOTT (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +2.192s
29 Kelvin FLETCHER (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +2.519s
30 Alex MARTIN (GBR) Dextra Racing +2.800s
31 Stewart LINES (GBR) Maximum Motorsport +3.298s
32 Chris SMILEY (GBR) TLC/RCIB Insurance Racing No Time © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home