Jordan takes Autosport award

3rd December 2013

Just a week after collecting the most sought-after prize in British motor sport at the TOCA Night of Champions, the 2013 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Champion Andrew Jordan received another coveted accolade on Sunday (1 December) at the Autosport Awards in London.

The 24-year-old secured the National Racing Driver of the Year award – following in the footsteps of 2012 BTCC champion Gordon Shedden who took the trophy 12 months ago. This year, Jordan was up against drivers from the British GT and Formula 3 championships, as well as fellow BTCC drivers Jason Plato and Gordon Shedden who came third and second in the championship respectively.

Jordan’s giant-killing season was, however, a feat that earned him the both the award and the coveted Paul Warwick Trophy that goes with it. The Pirtek Racing driver was presented with his prizes by current Formula One star Romain Grosjean.

"It's been a pretty special year," Jordan said. "Coming into the year the aim was always to win the championship; I thought it was possible and the team did as well. We applied ourselves well, but to do it the way we did – going into the final round – was pretty tense. I learned a lot from it.

"The championship is very competitive and next year looks like it might be oversubscribed, which is great. I won the title this year and I don't want to let it go, so I'll be working hard in 2014."

Jordan took to the stage with a host of other motor sport stars. Those also honoured included the now four-time F1 World Champion Sebastian Vettel, fellow F1 drivers Lewis Hamilton and Jules Bianchi, as well as World Rally Champion Sébastien Ogier and Formula Ford Champion Daniel Cammish.

You can watch a clip of Jordan receiving his award over on the ITV BTCC page © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home