Jack Goff jumps to the top of the order

29th July 2017

Eurotech Racing's Jack Goff produced the goods in the second BTCC Free Practice session at Snetterton, as the Honda Civic Type R driver set the quickest lap time ahead of Josh Price and Adam Morgan.

The pace was some way off this morning's running with a number of teams focussing on set-up and the long-term picture , but it was still a hugely impressive effort from the lead trio.

"It seems to be going okay so far," confirmed Goff. "Free Practice is as it is, so it means nothing really until qualifying unfortunately. We've definitely got more time in our car, so that's promising and we're hopeful – it's nowhere near perfect yet. The boys are, I'm sure, going to do a fantastic job again ahead of quali and find a few more tenths in the car to see where it'll leave us this afternoon."

Price's Subaru is sporting new colours this weekend as he runs under the A-Plan Academy banner for the remainder of the season, and the off-track boost has seemingly been converted on-track too. Languishing down in 26th during the opening session, the young rookie completed a stunning lap to take second in final practice – his best result in any BTCC session so far.

Ciceley Motorsport's Adam Morgan led the way for much of the proceedings, before having to settle for third, but the Mercedes A-Class has shown extremely well so far in Norfolk.

This morning's pace-setters – Tom Ingram and Ash Sutton – backed up their potential by taking fourth and fifth respectively, whilst Rob Austin completed the top six. Handy Motorsport's Austin has qualified well throughout the year and he currently holds more the double the points at this stage of the season than he did last year. Besides the overall championship picture, Austin currently lies just three points behind the sister Toyota of Ingram in the Independent Drivers' standings.

Four different marques rounded out the top ten as Josh Cook (MG), Mat Jackson (Ford), Aiden Moffat (Mercedes) and Matt Neal (Honda) all enjoyed solid runs ahead of this aftenoon's all-important qualifying session, which you can see live at www.itv.com/btcc from 15:45.

There was one brief stoppage in the session when Matt Simpson went off and damaged the left hand side of his car, although the man himself confirmed to btcc.net that it was 'relatively minor damage' and he would fine to contest qualifying.

2017 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Free Practice 2 – Snetterton

Jack GOFF (GBR) Eurotech Racing 1m56.504s (91.74 mph)
2 Josh PRICE (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +0.277s
3 Adam MORGAN (GBR) Ciceley Motorsport +0.287s
4 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +0.394s
Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +0.405s
Rob AUSTIN (GBR) Handy Motorsport +0.501s
Josh COOK (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +0.571s
Mat JACKSON (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo +0.670s
9 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +0.764s
10 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.778s
11 Chris SMILEY (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +0.862s
12 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +0.954s
13 Brett SMITH (GBR) Eurotech Racing +0.981s
14 Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +0.996s
15 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) AmDtuning.com with Cobra Exhausts +1.031s
16 James COLE (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +1.041s
17 Andrew JORDAN (GBR) BMW Pirtek Racing +1.048s
18 Rob COLLARD (GBR) Team BMW +1.072s
19 Aron TAYLOR-SMITH (IRL) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +1.101s
20 Michael EPPS (GBR) Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing +1.116s
21 Dave NEWSHAM (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +1.227s
22 Tom CHILTON (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +1.259s
23 Senna PROCTOR (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +1.307s
24 Jake HILL (GBR) TAG Racing +1.313s
25 Will BURNS (GBR) Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing +1.317s
26 Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +1.351s
27 Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Simpson Racing +1.421s
28 Ant WHORTON-EALES (GBR) AmDtuning.com with Cobra Exhausts +1.483s
29 Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport +2.123s
30 Martin DEPPER (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo +2.618s
31 Stewart LINES (GBR) Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport +3.771s

BTCC.net © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home