Hill on top

8th June 2024

The fourth weekend of the 2024 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship is underway at Thruxton with Laser Tools Racing with MB Motorsport's Jake Hill setting the early pace at the fastest circuit in the country.

Hill was not hanging around either with his 1:15.341s benchmark being just over a tenth shy of Dan Cammish's 2020 qualifying lap record, suggesting we could be in for an extremely quick qualifying session later this afternoon.

Team BRISTOL STREET MOTORS' Tom Ingram was just 0.191s behind Hill, but the 2024 double race-winning duo were significantly faster than the chasing pack.

The wolves were led by Evans Halshaw Power Maxed Racing's Árón Taylor-Smith, the Irishman having enjoyed an extremely strong start to the campaign.

Adam Morgan was fourth and the Team BMW star is fresh from two of his best ever qualifying performances – second at Brands Hatch and third at Snetterton – but's its vital that the #33 converts that pace into race results come Sunday.

Andrew Watson (TOYOTA GAZOO Racing UK) and Colin Turkington (Team BMW) were next in the order, the latter enduring a mid-session halt when the bonnet of his BMW was dislodged.

Tom Chilton (Team BRISTOL STREET MOTORS) was seventh, ahead of a NAPA Racing UK duo of Ash Sutton, Dan Rowbottom and Dan Cammish.

Cammish didn't have a completely smooth session as his NAPA Racing UK Ford Focus ground to a halt with ten minutes to go, with a throttle issue, although he was able to recover to the pits.

Free Practice 2 gets underway at 1205 before Qualifying commences at 1525, with the latter session being streamed live via the ITV Sport YouTube channel.

Thruxton - Free Practice 1 - Classification

124Jake HILLLaser Tools Racing with MB Motorsport151:15.3416
2100Tom INGRAMTeam BRISTOL STREET MOTORS191:15.5320.19118
340Árón TAYLOR-SMITHEvans Halshaw Power Maxed Racing171:16.1730.83216
433Adam MORGANTeam BMW161:16.3501.00912
511Andrew WATSONTOYOTA GAZOO Racing UK171:16.4611.1211
620Colin TURKINGTONTeam BMW141:16.4781.13713
81Ashley SUTTONNAPA Racing UK171:16.5171.1767
932Daniel ROWBOTTOMNAPA Racing UK151:16.6061.26510
1027Dan CAMMISHNAPA Racing UK131:16.7781.4379
1188Mikey DOBLEEvans Halshaw Power Maxed Racing171:17.1491.80811
1214Ronan PEARSONTeam BRISTOL STREET MOTORS171:17.2591.91816
1366Josh COOKLKQ Euro Car Parts with SYNETIQ141:17.3512.0110
1412Rob HUFFTOYOTA GAZOO Racing UK171:17.3642.0239
1516Aiden MOFFATLKQ Euro Car Parts with SYNETIQ161:17.4492.10815
16222Chris SMILEYRestart Racing171:17.5382.19712
1777Sam OSBORNENAPA Racing UK141:17.8882.5479
1818Daryl DELEONDuckhams Racing With Bartercard171:18.6573.31615
1929Scott SUMPTONRestart Racing151:19.0463.7059
2022Nick HALSTEADTeam BRISTOL STREET MOTORS181:19.5624.22111
BTCC.net © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home