Goff hits the top in FP2

28th July 2018

WIX Racing with Eurotech driver Jack Goff has hit the top during final Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship free practice session at Snetterton, following on from his front-running form during the recent two-day test at the Norfolk circuit.

Goff's lap time of 1:55.684s – less than a tenth shy of Gordon Shedden's 2016 qualifying lap record – has laid down the gauntlet to his rivals ahead of the unprecedented two qualifying sessions later this afternoon.

"When you’ve got a six week break off the back of a bad weekend, it’s horrendous," said Goff. "Croft was a nightmare for us and we’re focussed fully on this weekend now. We’ll see what happens. The 'Diamond Double' is massively important for everybody involved in the BTCC – it’s a bit of history. The 60th year of the championship is fantastic to be a part of.

"We learned some things in the recent test and we've continued to do so this morning – let's see what the afternoon brings."

Halfords Yuasa Racing's Dan Cammish was another driver on top form during the test days around the 2.99-mile circuit so it was no surprise to see him slip into second in the new-for-2018 Honda Civic Type R.

Matt Simpson made it a Honda 1-2-3 on the timesheets as he backed up his strong FP1 showing with yet another impressive performance in the final run.

Mike Bushell is also enjoying an extremely solid Saturday so far and the Team HARD driver claimed fourth in the later session, having taken his VW to third in this morning's 40-minute encounter.

Brett Smith confirmed Eurotech's credentials with fifth, whilst fans' favourite Rob Austin – sporting an Alfa Romeo red roof this weekend – secured sixth for DUO Motorsport with HMS Racing.

BTC Norlin's Chris Smiley was seventh with Senna Proctor just behind – both drivers again clocking top ten times. Former champions Matt Neal and Andrew Jordan completed the leading order.

Honda machinery occupied six of the top ten places.

The BTCC is set to enjoy an historic weekend with its diamond jubilee celebrations including a ‘Diamond Double’ 60-mile finale race on Sunday afternoon. Saturday’s action also has a completely new look with two qualifying sessions taking place today – with the final ballast-free encounter setting the grid for tomorrow’s headline event.

2018 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Free Practice 2 – Snetterton

Jack GOFF (GBR) WIX Racing with Eurotech 1m55.684s
Dan CAMMISH (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.244s
Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Simpson Racing +0.340s
4 Mike BUSHELL (GBR) Trade Price Cars with Brisky Racing +0.340s
5 Brett SMITH (GBR) WIX Racing with Eurotech +0.393s
Rob AUSTIN (GBR) DUO Motorsport with HMS Racing +0.518s
Chris SMILEY (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +0.752s
8 Senna PROCTOR (GBR) Power Maxed TAG Racing +0.768s
9 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.789s
10 Andrew JORDAN (GBR) BMW Pirtek Racing +0.863s
11 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +1.068s
12 Adam MORGAN (GBR) Mac Tools with Ciceley Motorsport +1.070s
13 James COLE (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher +1.146s
14 Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +1.190s
15 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +1.240s
16 Tom OLIPHANT (GBR) Ciceley Motorsport +1.269s
17 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) AmD with Cobra Exhausts +1.272s
18 Josh COOK (GBR) Power Maxed TAG Racing +1.330s
19 Rob COLLARD (GBR) Team BMW +1.374s
20 Michael CAINE (GBR) Team HARD with Trade Price Cars +1.437s
21 Rory BUTCHER (GBR) AmD with AutoAid/RCIB Insurance Racing +1.606s
22 Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +1.669s
23 Dan LLOYD (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +1.710s
24 Bobby THOMPSON (GBR) Team HARD with Trade Price Cars +1.746s
25 Sam SMELT (GBR) AmD with Cobra Exhausts +1.787s
26 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +2.111s
27 Sam TORDOFF (GBR) Team GardX Racing with Motorbase +2.277s
28 Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team Parker Racing +2.588s
29 Ant WHORTON-EALES (GBR) AmD with AutoAid/RCIB Insurance Racing +3.048s
30 Dan WELCH (GBR) Trade Price Cars with Brisky Racing +3.591s
31 Tom CHILTON (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher NO TIME


BTCC.net © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home