31st July 2021

Jack Goff's development of the all-new Team HARD-run CUPRA Leon has continued apace here at Oulton Park as the multiple race-winner topped the second Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship free practice session.

Rory Butcher was second for Toyota Gazoo Racing UK as the Scotsman looks to kickstart his championship challenge, following a few steady – if not spectacular – race weekends with his new team.

Senna Proctor was the pace-setter during the recent two-day Goodyear tyre test at the picturesque Cheshire circuit and the BTC Racing man has proven his speed again today by setting the third fastest lap time in his Honda Civic Type R.

Jason Plato – the most successful BTCC driver ever around Oulton Park with 11 career victories – is looking particularly racy as the Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing Vauxhall returned to the sharp end of the order, ahead of Adam Morgan's Car Gods-backed BMW.

Sam Osborne enjoyed one of his sessions of the season so far and the Ford Focus driver even topped the times in the final ten minutes, before eventually having to settle for sixth.

A trio of expected title contenders were next in the classification with Tom Ingram (Ginsters EXCELR8 with TradePriceCars.com), Ash Sutton (Laser Tools Racing) and Gordon Shedden (Halfords Racing with Cataclean) finishing seventh, eighth and ninth respectively.

Team BMW's Stephen Jelley rounded out the top ten.

A special mention for Jack Mitchell – contesting his debut BTCC weekend – as the young charger also highlighted the potential of the new CUPRA Leon by bringing his car home in 11th.

Qualifying for Round 10 of the 2021 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship commences at 1510 and will be streamed live via www.itv.com/btcc.

2021 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship – Free Practice 2 – Oulton Park

1        Jack GOFF (GBR) Team HARD. with Autobrite Direct +1:26.381s
2        Rory BUTCHER (GBR) Toyota Gazoo Racing UK +0.008s
3        Senna PROCTOR(GBR) BTC Racing +0.254s
4        Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing +0.419s
5        Adam MORGAN (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +0.468s
6        Sam OSBORNE (GBR) Racing with Wera & Photon Group +0.617s
7        Tom INGRAM (GBR) Ginsters EXCELR8 with TradePriceCars.com +0.625s
8        Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +0.670s
9        Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +0.677s
10      Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team BMW +0.684s
11      Jack MITCHELL (GBR) Team HARD. with Autobrite Direct +0.689s
12      Daniel ROWBOTTOM (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +0.768.s
13      Jake HILL (GBR) MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square +0.811s
14      Josh COOK (GBR) BTC Racing +0.865s
15      Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +0.898s
16      Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +0.900s
17 Tom CHILTON (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +0.924s
18      Chris SMILEY (GBR) Ginsters EXCELR8 with TradePriceCars.com +1.054s
19      Daniel LLOYD (GBR) Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing +1.055s
20      Tom OLIPHANT (GBR) Team BMW +1.088s
21      Ollie JACKSON (GBR) MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square +1.234s
22      Sam SMELT (GBR) Toyota Gazoo Racing UK +1.284s
23      Árón TAYLOR-SMITH (IRL) Team HARD. with HUB Financial Solutions +1.480s
24      Carl BOARDLEY (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +1.578s
25      Rick PARFITT (GBR) EXCELR8 with TradePriceCars.com +2.048s
26      Jade EDWARDS (GBR) PHSC with BTC Racing +2.217s
27      Andy NEATE (GBR) Racing with Wera & Photon Group +8.452s
28      Nicolas HAMILTON (GBR) ROKiT Racing with iQuoto Online Trading +9.896s
29      Jack BUTEL (GBR) EXCELR8 with TradePriceCars.com +10.909s

BTCC.net © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home