Dan Cammish comes out on top of FP1

3rd August 2019

Halfords Yuasa Racing's Dan Cammish has set the early Snetterton pace in the opening Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship practice session.

Matt Simpson led the way for much of the segment in the previous spec Honda Civic Type R before manufacturer man Cammish stretched his legs in the new Fk8 to top the times by just 0.029s.

It was an incredibly close session, despite being the longest circuit of the BTCC calendar, as Team Toyota GB with Ginsters' Tom Ingram was just a 0.030s further back.

BMW Pirtek Racing's Andrew Jordan was next in the order, followed by the Sterling Insurance with Power Maxed Racing Vauxhall duo of Rob Collard and Jason Plato.

Teams arrived at Snetterton having enjoyed a two-day test at the Norfolk circuit just two weeks ago, but lap times at the head of the field are already more than half a second quicker than last month's benchmark effort from Tom Chilton.

Matt Neal was seventh this morning for Halfords Yuasa Racing, ahead of Team BMW's Tom Oliphant and TradePriceCars.com's Jake Hill, whilst Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher's Chilton rounded out the top ten.

Not only were teams carrying out their own practice programmes following the five-week summer break but they're also preparing for the first ever BTCC weekend to include a trio of Dunlop tyre compounds. Each car will be required to run hard, medium and soft Dunlop Sport Maxx tyres across the three races tomorrow, so tactics will also come into play throughout the day.

The Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship will be back on track for FP2 at 12:00 before qualifying commences at 15:00, with the latter being streamed live www.itv.com/btcc.

2019 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship – Free Practice 1 – Snetterton

1 Dan CAMMISH (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing 1m55.478s
Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Simpson Racing +0.029s
3 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Team Toyota GB with Ginsters +0.030s
4 Andrew JORDAN (GBR) BMW Pirtek Racing +0.439s
Rob COLLARD (GBR) Sterling Insurance with Power Maxed Racing +0.641s
6 Jason PLATO (GBR) Sterling Insurance with Power Maxed Racing +0.727s
7 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.780s
8 Tom OLIPHANT (GBR) Team BMW +0.803s
Jake HILL (GBR) TradePriceCars.com +0.817s
10 Tom CHILTON (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher +0.829s
11 Adam MORGAN (GBR) Mac Tools with Ciceley Motorsport +0.877s
12 Rory BUTCHER (GBR) Cobra Sport AmD AutoAid/RCIB Insurance +0.899s
13 Sam TORDOFF (GBR) Cobra Sport AmD AutoAid/RCIB Insurance +0.921s
14 Carl BOARDLEY (GBR) RCIB Insurance with Fox Transport +1.034s
15 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +1.041s
16 Jack GOFF (GBR) RCIB Insurance with Fox Transport +1.070s
17 Chris SMILEY (GBR) BTC Racing +1.230s
18 Bobby THOMPSON (GBR) GKR Scaffolding with Autobrite Direct +1.236s
19 Daniel ROWBOTTOM (GBR) Cataclean Racing with Ciceley Motorsport +1.239s
20 Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team Parker Racing +1.359s
21 Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +1.455s
22 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher +1.467s
23 Senna PROCTOR (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +1.535s
24 Nicolas HAMILTON (GBR) ROKiT Racing with Motorbase +1.566s
25 Josh COOK (GBR) BTC Racing +1.700s
26 Rob SMITH (GBR) Excelr8 Motorsport +1.774s
27 Mark BLUNDELL (GBR) TradePriceCars.com +2.150s
28 Michael CREES (GBR) GKR Scaffolding with Autobrite Direct +2.219s
29 Sam OSBORNE (GBR) Excelr8 Motorsport +3.255s
30 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +3.397s

BTCC.net © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home