Bushell goes one better in final practice

15th September 2018

Mike Bushell set the fastest time of the day in Free Practice 2 at Silverstone as all 31 drivers prepared ahead of qualifying for Round 25 of the 2018 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship.

Bushell was second quickest in the opening session but the Trade Price Cars with Brisky Racing driver went one better in the final practice run, as he yet again showed his pace on a Saturday. His and the team's achilles heal, however, has often been converting that practice pace into a top qualifying position, but the Kent man seems better set than ever to produce the goods later this afternoon.

Andrew Jordan (BMW Pirtek Racing), Rob Austin (DUO Motorsport with HMS Racing) and Jack Goff (WIX Racing with Eurotech) also ran well in the earlier session and the trio backed-up that showing by finishing second, third and fourth respectively in final practice.

BTC Norlin's Chris Smiley pipped Team BMW's impressive Ricky Collard by just 0.009s to take fifth, whilst Brett Smith (WIX Racing with Eurotech), Tom Chilton (Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher), Stephen Jelley (Team Parker Racing) and Dan Cammish (Halfords Yuasa Racing) completed the top ten positions.

At this pivotal stage of the season there is naturally a lot of interest in the main title contenders  – Colin Turkington, Tom Ingram, Ash Sutton – but the standings' top three have not yet troubled the top ten.

They will be hoping that all that changes later today, however, when the all-important qualifying session commences at 15:15 – you can watch all the action live via www.itv.com/btcc.

2018 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Free Practice 2 – Silverstone

1 Mike BUSHELL (GBR) Trade Price Cars with Brisky Racing 58.423s
2 Andrew JORDAN (GBR) BMW Pirtek Racing +0.070s
Rob AUSTIN (GBR) DUO Motorsport with HMS Racing +0.207s
Jack GOFF (GBR) WIX Racing with Eurotech +0.231s
Chris SMILEY (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +0.270s
Ricky COLLARD (GBR) Team BMW +0.279s
7 Brett SMITH (GBR) WIX Racing with Eurotech +0.289s
Tom CHILTON (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher +0.305s
9 Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team Parker Racing +0.312s
10 Dan CAMMISH (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.314s
11 Tom OLIPHANT (GBR) Ciceley Motorsport +0.316s
12 Dan LLOYD (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +0.320s
13 Josh COOK (GBR) Power Maxed TAG Racing +0.342s
14 Senna PROCTOR (GBR) Power Maxed TAG Racing +0.354s
15 Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Simpson Racing +0.369s
16 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.394s
17 Rory BUTCHER (GBR) AmD with AutoAid/RCIB Insurance Racing +0.432s
18 Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +0.441s
19 Adam MORGAN (GBR) Mac Tools with Ciceley Motorsport +0.441s
20 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +0.459s
21 Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +0.504s
22 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) AmD with Cobra Exhausts +0.543s
23 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +0.551s
24 Sam TORDOFF (GBR) Team GardX Racing with Motorbase +0.575s
25 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +0.591s
26 James COLE (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher +0.672s
27 Bobby THOMPSON (GBR) Team HARD with Trade Price Cars +0.704s
28 Ollie PIDGLEY (GBR) Trade Price Cars with Brisky Racing +0.922s
29 Sam SMELT (GBR) AmD with Cobra Exhausts +0.972s
30 Josh CAYGILL (GBR) AmD with AutoAid/RCIB Insurance Racing +1.305s
31 Ethan HAMMERTON (GBR) Team HARD with Trade Price Cars +1.473s

BTCC.net © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home