Advantage Ingram ahead of qualifying

13th August 2016

Speedworks Motorsport's Tom Ingram set the pace during practice at Knockhill, a position he has taken up on a number of occasions at other circuits during the 2016 BTCC season so far.

Ingram's was positive, yet cautious, when we caught up with the Speedworks man after the session. "I'm really happy," he said. "The car is strong and we've made a few positive changes. The pace is some way off last year's though so we expect it to be quicker still this afternoon. We need to find a chunk of time – we know where we need to – as we still believe the rear-wheel drive cars will be very fast in qualifying.

"We've been saying all year that it's about the weekend as whole. It's no good setting the pace in practice if you don't follow it up in the races, so it's important we keep improving."

Adam Morgan backed-up his FP1 pace by hauling his WIX Racing Mercedes into second place, narrowly edging out Jack Goff's Team IHG Rewards Club BMW.

Such was the competitveness during a fast and frantic final session that the top 24 drivers were covered by less than a second, suggesting we could be heading for the closest qualifying session of the season at the 1.27-mile circuit later this afternoon.

There was a brief stoppage mid-session to retrieve the stricken Proton on Daniel Welch, leaving the Goodestone Racing team hard at work again following the superb job to rebuild the car after a major accident at Snetterton last time out.

The same can be said of Power Maxed Racing, which had the mammoth task of preparing Hunter Abbott's Chevrolet after the race three startline incident last month. The team has clearly done a magnificent job, with Abbott also showing no lasting effects as he blasted to fourth in the closing seconds of practice at Knockhill.

Jeff Smith's Eurotech Honda sneaked into fifth ahead of Jason Plato's FP1 pace-setting Subaru, whilst West Surrey Racing's Sam Tordoff pipped reigning champion Gordon Shedden into seventh. Andrew Jordan was ninth while Rob Collard made it three BMWs in the top ten.

2016 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – FP2 – Knockhill:

Tom INGRAM (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport 51.955s
Adam MORGAN (GBR) WIX Racing +0.228s
3 Jack GOFF (GBR) Team IHG Rewards Club +0.275s
Hunter ABBOTT (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +0.599s
Jeff SMITH (GBR) Eurotech Racing +0.305s
6 Jason PLATO (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +0.344s
7 Sam TORDOFF (GBR) Team JCT600 Racing with GardX +0.339s
8 Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing 0.345s
Andrew JORDAN (GBR) Motorbase Performance +0.357s
10 Robert COLLARD (GBR) Team JCT600 Racing with GardX +0.360s
11 Aron SMITH (IRL) BKR +0.362s
12 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +0.368s
13 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +0.376s
14 Rob AUSTIN (GBR) Handy Motorsport +0.381s
15 Jake HILL (GBR) RCIB Insurance Racing +0.413s
16 James COLE (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +0.518s
17 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.571s
18 Dave NEWSHAM (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +0.617s
19 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) AmD +0.653s
20 Ashley SUTTON (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +0.663s
21 Mat JACKSON (GBR) Motorbase Performance +0.772s
22 Josh COOK (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +0.778s
23 Martin DEPPER (GBR) Eurotech Racing +0.801s
24 Michael CAINE (GBR) TLC/RCIB Insurance Racing +0.963s
25 Warren SCOTT (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +1.036s
26 Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +1.037s
27 Michael EPPS (GBR) RCIB Insurance Racing +1.134s
28 Dan WELCH (GBR) Goodestone Racing +1.555s
29 Stewart LINES (GBR) Maximum Motorsport +1.556s
30 Mark HOWARD (GBR) BKR +1.716s
31 Alex MARTIN (GBR) Dextra Racing +1.777s © 2024
Follow us
Developed by BBGMedia Home